The perfect priority


Unfortunately I don’t even need to ask myself “what did I fail at today?” It’s been weeks since my last blog. Not to say I haven’t thought about it. I just haven’t acted on it – even worse. Granted we have been slammed rolling out the Hyundai Holidays Pomplamoose campaign, but that is no excuse it’s really not even a reason. I expect myself to only get busier. To top it off “The Perfect Opportunity” isn’t the only thing that I said I would do – that am not doing. Time to get focused again.

In the last four or so weeks our team has rolled out a plethora of work. The holiday TV shoot, Print shoot (which was me and some christmas lights… awesome) Six or so TV spots, rebranded the YouTube channel, national and regional online banners, dealership POS and some social strategy. All with only 5 of us creatives. So ya, I guess you could say we were busy. And in all that busyness there were a ton of lessons. All shadowed by one. Priorities and knowing them.

Know the important tasks, when are they due and what are elements of those tasks that are worth fighting for. I’ll admit it’s hard for me to not want to fight for all of them. It’s hard to let some things go when you know they should be another way. Having the ability to recognize their importance will take some work, but mostly vision.

What it really boils down to is knowing the difference between being right, and being happy. I could fight till I’m blue in the face on something that I am never going to win. On something that is undoubtedly going to frustrate me and those I’m working with. For something that is probably not even that big of a deal. So why fight those inevitable battles? What’s the point? I need to learn to pick battles – know how to frame my debate in those battles all while keeping the big picture in mind. There might be other things that I am not privy to that effect more than my current project. It’s probably one of the most important lessons I can learn in my career. Not only will it help me stay sane but it will probably help me even more when the politics of this business weigh more heavily on me and my work.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The perfect priority

  1. heidi says:

    I like this one – I think i’ve “experienced” this one, maybe even with the writer of this blog 🙂 It’s interesting/helpful to see the process and thought behind it all… thanks Joe!

Leave a Reply

